Skip to Content

Weather Update: UofSC Columbia campus to close Friday, Jan. 21 due to inclement weather. See for updates.

Office of the Vice President for Research

Strategic Planning Group Three

Strategic Planning Group Three works to enhance the University of South Carolina’s outstanding research community in support of our system-wide strategic plan, For South Carolina: A Path to Excellence.

The Office of the Vice President for Research is proud to coordinate the university’s Strategic Planning Group Three. This group of key university stakeholders meets regularly to strategize how to meet Strategic Priority Three goals of promoting research excellence and innovation through enhancement of Phase I and Phase II objectives.


Strategic Planning Group Three Members

Dr. Prakash Nagarkatti
Vice President for Research


Dr. Cheryl Addy
Vice Provost and Dean of Faculty
Office of the Provost


Steve Beckham
Federal Legislative Liaison
Office of Government and Community Relations


Dr. Brandon Bookstaver
Associate Professor
College of Pharmacy


Maggie Carson
Graduate Student Association President
Arnold School of Public Health


Kelly Epting
Associate Vice President
Office of Finance and Budget


Dr. Hossein Haj-Hariri
College of Engineering and Computing


Laura Kammerer
Communications Strategist
Office of Communications and Public Affairs


Bill Kirkland
Executive Director
Office of Economic Engagement


Dr. Xiaoming Li
Arnold School of Public Health


Dr. Ana Lopez-DeFede
College of Social Work


Dr. Mike Matthews
Associate Vice President for Research
Office of the Vice President for Research


Todd McCaffrey
Senior Director of Strategic Partnerships
Office of Veterans and Military Services


Jennifer McCormack
Executive Director
Giving at South Carolina


Sarisha Menon
Undergraduate Student Representative
South Carolina Honors College


Julie Morris
Office of Undergraduate Research


Issy Rushton
Undergraduate Student Representative
Student Body President


Dr. Alex Rutkovsky
President of the UofSC Postdoctoral Association
Department of Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology


Paul Sagona
Executive Director
UofSC Research Computing


Jean Saunders-Blanks
Office of International Scholars


Dr. Jeff Twiss
Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies
College of Arts and Sciences


Dr. Tracey Weldon
Interim Dean Graduate School and Vice Provost for Graduate Education
College of Arts and Sciences


Support Staff

Staff members with the Office of the Vice President for Research support the efforts of Strategic Planning Group Three.

Dr. Lauren Clark
Research Program Manager


Debbie Gipson
Research Administrative Manager


Elizabeth Renedo
Research Communications Manager

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.