Skip to Content

College of Nursing

The Amy V. Cockcroft Leadership Fellowship

Meet the Faculty

Our talented faculty expose the Fellows to a diverse range of complementary skills essential for leadership. Each faculty member creates an inclusive learning environment where Fellows collaboratively learn and practice lesson tools.

Dr. Joyce Batcheller is an Executive Nurse Advisor with AMN Healthcare and is responsible for the development and delivery of two Chief Nursing Officer Academies:  CNO Academy I, which was developed for new and aspiring CNOs and CNO Academy II, which was developed for experienced CNOs.

Dr. Batcheller holds the position of adjunct professor for Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Nursing in Lubbock, Texas and is the Vice President and chair of the International Association of Leadership Science in Nursing (ALSN) and host of a radio show “All about Nursing”.

Having served for 19 years as chief nursing officer of Central Texas' largest healthcare system, overseeing more than 3,700 nurses and 90 clinical locations including 11 hospitals, four of which became Magnet-designated and five Pathway to Excellence-designated during her tenure. 

Dr. Janet Wessel Krejci is the dean and professor of the College of Nursing at Marquette University in Milwaukee, WI.

She has numerous publications and funded research grants in the areas of leadership, recruitment and retention, work climate, workforce diversity and change in both acute care and long-term care. She has consulted and presented workshops, courses and keynote addresses on Systems Thinking, Leadership, Change, Conflict and Nursing Excellence to help leaders be more effective, efficient and satisfied in their roles.

Jerry Mansfield is the chief nursing officer for Mount Carmel Health System and associate dean for Leadership and Clinical Practice at the Mount Carmel College of Nursing.

Jerry has worked in healthcare for more than 35 years—from staff nurse roles in orthopedics and critical care to nurse executive roles in ambulatory services and at hospitals in both central Ohio and South Carolina. Jerry is a Robert Wood Johnson Executive Nurse Fellow and board-certified Nurse Executive Advanced from the American Nurses Credentialing Center. Jerry serves on two national board/councils: the Friends of the National Institute of Nursing Research (2018 to present) and Co-Chair, the Nurse Executive Council, The Beryl Institute.

Jenny Maxwell is faculty at The Buckley School of Public Speaking.

She has 30 years of professional experience, writing, producing media and presenting workshops and classes. She has coached political leaders and top executives from around the world, helping them hone presentation skills.  She also teaches writing seminars, presents at national conferences and has facilitated multi-day workshops for clients including General Electric, the University of South Carolina, and the National Advocacy Center.
Betty Parker is the owner of Sharper Development Solutions, Inc., a training and development company.

She is a professional speaker, author, and trainer. She provides engaging presentations and training to corporations and individuals who have a desire to grow professionally and personally. She is a Certified Professional in Learning and Performance (CPLP) through the Association for Talent Development and a Certified Professional Coach.
Elise Partin is a nonpartisan leader who holds the distinction of being the first female to serve in the office of Mayor in Cayce, South Carolina

A leader on numerous boards including the Joseph P. Riley, Jr. Center for Livable Communities, she is known as a devoted servant-leader who builds consensus, activates innovations and accomplishes the unimaginable -- fundamentally transforming her city's livability, making it a low-cost high-quality place to live, work and play.  Outside of her mayoral duties, Elise Partin is an Adjunct Faculty member in the School of Public Health, Honors College, and Political Science Department of the University of South Carolina. Elise is a popular speaker and is passionate about helping others find their voice, set and achieve their goals and gain leadership skills.  She creates customized trainings that empower leaders and their teams to successfully express ideas and gain influence through effective oral and persuasive communication including managing crises, drawing from her extensive real-world experience.
Penie Petra is the Vice President of Nursing – Bon Secours St. Francis Hospital. 

She has served in management positions since 1984 and as the Senior Nurse Executive / Chief Nursing Officer since 1995. Career highlights include the design, construction, and relocation of Bon-Secours St. Francis Hospital to its new West Ashley campus in 1996. Pennie led the hospital to 3 consecutive Magnet designations, with the first being in August of 2010. At the regional and state levels, Pennie's efforts focus on improving the work environment for nursing, increasing the supply of nurses, addressing nursing faculty shortages, and promoting recognition for exceptional nursing practice.
Jeanne U. Cavanaugh is the Director of Clinical Partnerships and Director of the Amy V. Cockcroft Leadership Fellowship with the University of South Carolina College of Nursing.

She is certified as a Nurse Executive Advanced by the ANCC. Jeanne earned her Bachelor of Science and Master of Nursing from the University of South Carolina.  Jeanne held a Director of Nursing position for Palmetto Health in Columbia, SC for thirty years of her career. During her thirty years in nursing leadership roles, she led a variety of service areas, including Oncology Services and Emergency Services within a large health system. Jeanne has served as President of several nursing organizations and Boards during her professional career, including Sigma Theta Tau International Alpha Xi Chapter, the South Organization of Nurse Leaders, and the USC College of Nursing Partnership Board. Jeanne currently serves on the Prisma Health - Midlands Board of Directors. She was awarded the 2010 Palmetto Gold Award as one of the top 100 nurses in South Carolina and the Blanch Urey Award for Chapter Service in 2006 from the Alpha Xi Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International. Jeanne continues her memberships in Sigma Theta Tau International and South Carolina Organization of Nurse Leaders. Jeanne’s passion is supporting healthcare leaders to drive quality, compassionate patient-centered care through leadership, practice, education and research.



Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.