Skip to Content

National Resource Center for The First-Year Experience and Students in Transition

Paul P. Fidler Research Grant

The Paul P. Fidler Research Grant competition is open to those planning to conduct research on college student transitions. The comprehensive award package includes a stipend, travel to two national conferences, and more.

Application submission is closed.

Application submission will reopen Summer 2023.

Note:  Only complete applications will be accepted. Submission guidelines are available on the Application Requirements page.



Comprehensive Award Package

The Paul P. Fidler Research Grant award includes a cash stipend, travel to two national conferences, a presentation at a national conference, and priority consideration for publication. Specifically, the grant's comprehensive award package includes:

  • Stipend of $5,000, payable either directly to individual researchers or through the researcher(s)' institution(s). The National Resource Center for The First-Year Experience and Students in Transition will not pay institutional overhead or indirect costs.
  • Travel to the 29th National Conference on Students in Transition, October 2022, at which the award will be presented
  • Travel to the 30th National Conference on Students in Transition, October 2023, at which the research findings will be reported
  • Announcement on the National Resource Center webpage, listservs, and print publications
  • Priority consideration for publication by the National Resource Center.


The Paul P. Fidler Research Grant competition is open to faculty, staff, and graduate students who plan to conduct research on issues of college student transitions. Cross-institutional research teams are encouraged to apply for the Paul P. Fidler Research Grant. The following individuals are not eligible and may not be included as part of proposed research teams: National Resource Center staff and fellows; current members of our National or International Advisory Boards; and students, staff, and faculty of the University of South Carolina system.

Grant Decisions

The staff of the National Resource Center will conduct an initial review of all completed proposals to ensure they meet the criteria guidelines and submission requirements of the Fidler grant. Proposals that meet the submission guidelines and requirements will be blind-reviewed and evaluated by an external review board of leading research scholars and practitioners in the field of higher education.

Clay Adams, Duke University
Catherine Andersen, University of Baltimore
Christian Anderson, University of South Carolina
Jo Arney, AASCU
Amy Baldwin, University of Central Arkansas
Betsy Barefoot, John N. Gardner Institute
Rachel Beech, Cal State San Bernadino
Brad Bostian, Central Piedmont Community College
Bryce Bunting, Brigham Young University
Rebecca Campbell, Northern Arizona University
Rozana Carducci, Salem State University
Laura Chezan, Old Dominion University
Beth Lingren Clark, University of Minnesota Twin Cities
Larry Correll-Hughes, Stetson University
Ty Cruce, ACT
Donna Dahlgren, Indiana University Southeast
Laura Dean, University of Georgia
Shannon Dean, Texas State University
Saran Donahoo, Southern Illinois University
Marybeth Drechsler, Sharp, CAS
Diane Elliott, Kutztown University of Pennsylvania
Viki Fecas, University of South Carolina
Matthew Fifolt, University of Alabama at Birmingham
Lisa Fowler, Red Rocks Community College
Jimmie Gahagan, Virginia Commonwealth University
Ann Gansemer-Topf, Iowa State University
Kathy Goodman, Miami University of Ohio
Yancey Gulley, Western Carolina University
Adrianna Guram, East Tennessee State University
Brad Harmon, Furman University
Cassandra Harper, University of Missouri
Sara Hinkle, West Chester University
Darlena Jones, AIR
Kirsten Kennedy, University of South Carolina
Jillian Kinzie, Indiana University at Bloomington
Kia Kiresman, York College of Pennsylvania
Nichole Knutston, University of South Carolina
Alan Mabe, APLU
Jenn Mallen, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Georgianna Martin, University of Georgia
Jodi Koslow Martin, Triton College
Tia McNair, AAC&U
Greg Metz, University of Cincinnati
Ryan Padgett, Northern Kentucky University
Amelia Parnell, NASPA
Jon Pederson, University of South Carolina
Darren Pierre, University of Chicago
Matt Pistilli, Iowa State University
La’Tonya Rease Miles, University of California, Los Angeles
Michael Redd, Kennesaw State University
Denise Rode, Northern Illinois University
Heather Rowan-Kenyon, Boston College
Molly Schaller, University of Dayton
Julie Schultz, Ohio State University
Jenna Seabold
Deborah Sheffel, Colorado Christian University
Doug Smith, University of South Carolina
Rachel Smith, Baruch College
Ellen Stolzenberg, University of California, Los Angeles
Randy Swing, Association for Institutional Research
Jason Titus, Texas Christian University
Cathy Unite, University of Texas at Arlington
Andrew Wall, University of Redlands
Tracey Walterbusch, Ohio State University
Matthew Weigand, University at Buffalo
Jen Wells, Kennesaw State University
Robin Williamson, New College of Florida
Any Yazedjian, Illinois State University

The external review board will nominate up to five finalists for the Paul P. Fidler Research Grant. The finalists' proposals will then be blind-reviewed and evaluated by a panel of scholar-judges selected from our current National Advisory Board

Applicants submitting full proposals by July 1 will be notified of their award status by September 30. Reviewer comments will be made available to interested applicants after the grant recipient is announced at the National Conference on Students in Transition.

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.