Skip to Content

Leadership and Service Center

About Student Government

Student Government’s mission is to empower the students at the University of South Carolina to achieve, discover, and excel in everything they do through innovation, cultivating meaningful relationships, and celebrating the rich tradition we share as Gamecocks. We are here to identify, address, and advocate for students' needs, concerns and interests.

A Brief History

Since 1908, Student Government has had a distinguished history at the University of South Carolina.  During the first years of the University of South Carolina, student life was dominated by the campus' literary societies. In later years, officers were elected to lead each academic class. Today, Student Government consists of four executive officers (president, vice president, speaker of the student senate, and treasurer), the president's cabinet, a senate, a freshman council, a constitutional council, an elections commission, a communications team, three lobbying agencies, and the members of university committees. 

Current Leadership

The executive cabinet serves as an advisory board to the student body president and is comprised of students seeking to better the university through their particular areas of concentration.  

Position Name Contact Information
Attorney General   Felicity Ropp

fropp@email.sc.edu

 Secretary of Academics Madelyn Moosbrugger moosbrm@email.sc.edu 
Secretary of Athletics Anthony Lotito alotito@email.sc.edu 
Secretary of Campus Relations Emmie Thompson ett@email.sc.edu 
Secretary of Community Relations Emily Quinn efquinn@email.sc.edu 
Secretary of Finance Laney Quickel rquickel@email.sc.edu 
Secretary of Government Relations Reedy Newton reedyn@email.sc.edu 
Secretary of Greek Affairs Erin Dare emdare@email.sc.edu
Secretary of Health and Wellness Maia Porziov mporzio@email.sc.edu 
 Secretary of Inclusion and Equity Lasya Katta lkatta@email.sc.edu 
Secretary of Safety and Transportation Blake Gibbons bdg2@email.sc.edu 
 Secretary of Student Services Grace Gunter gmgunter@email.sc.edu 
Secretary of Sustainability Harrison Bench hbench@email.sc.edu 
 Secretary of University Relations  Morgan Spinner mspinner@email.sc.edu 
 Secretary of Veterans Affairs Jenna Palmer Jennanp@email.sc.edu 

The Senate is comprised of 50 Senators and 10 committees. Each committee is headed by a committee chairman assigned by the speaker and approved by the Senate.

The Senate has the opportunity to pass legislation in all non-academic fields. Legislation addresses issues ranging from the dispersal of funding to university administrative policy. All UofSC students are encouraged to voice their opinions by attending Senate sessions, by submitting suggestions through the Suggestion Box, or by applying to be in Senate.

The Student Senate meets at 5:30 p.m. on Wednesdays in the Senate Chambers on the third floor of the Russell House.

Elle Naylor        
enaylor@email.sc.edu  

Jaimeen Shah   
jkshah@email.sc.edu  

Lauren Barlett  
bartlel@email.sc.edu  

Sienna Mack     
macksr@email.sc.edu  

Anna Kelley      
atkelley@email.sc.edu  

Cameron Eubanks         
cke1@email.sc.edu  

Caroline Staff   
castaff@email.sc.edu  

Claire Windsor 
cwindsor@email.sc.edu

Hailey Garland 
haileygg@email.sc.edu  

Jada Hudson    
jadamh@email.sc.edu

John Mugabe   
mugabe@email.sc.edu  

Lauren Sokol    
lnsokol@email.sc.edu  

Maeve Smith    
MAEVES@email.sc.edu

Noah Glasgow  
glasgowb@email.sc.edu  

Nytavious Bennett        
ndb1@email.sc.edu  

Edward Morris 
EBM4@email.sc.edu

Mark Smith       
mes46@email.sc.edu

Allison Hildreth

Haley Pepper   
hbpepper@email.sc.edu   

James Thurlow
jthurlow@email.sc.edu  

Matthew Harris             
mwh1@email.sc.edu  

Michael Gallagher         
mag9@email.sc.edu  

Taylor Harris    
thharris@email.sc.edu

Piper Carter      
carterpj@email.sc.edu

Karthik Rangavajhula   
KARTHIKR@email.sc.edu

Dallas Bass        
DABASS@email.sc.edu

Griffin Sheffield              
SHEFFIEG@email.sc.edu

Andrew Phillips
asp3@email.sc.edu

Emily Giep        
mmcneal@email.sc.edu

Grace Farrell     
gfarrell@email.sc.edu  

Kailey Hoppe    
khoppe@email.sc.edu  

Madison Lomas
mlomas@email.sc.edu  

Jacob A. Jordan
jaj15@email.sc.edu

Joseph Smith    
jbs11@email.sc.edu

Dylan Peddemors
dylanmp@email.sc.edu  

Harrison McDermott
jhm14@email.sc.edu  

Isaac Leon
ileon@email.sc.edu

Jesus Andres Guerrero
JESUSAG@email.sc.edu  

John Hladun
jhladun@email.sc.edu

Morgan McDonald
mkm18@email.sc.edu   

Payton Palazzo
ppalazzo@email.sc.edu  

Aaron Squibb
asquibb@email.sc.edu

Sagar Patadia   
spatadia@email.sc.edu

Tyler Ward       
TCW5@email.sc.edu

Jaden Caughman           
caughmj@email.sc.edu  

Molley Jenkins 
molley@email.sc.edu

 

The Comptrollers serve as the financial advisors to student organizations, assisting them in their understanding of relevant paperwork, deadlines, budget preparation processes, and the allocation and funding processes. They also assist the student body treasurer in ensuring that student organizations have all the resources needed to voice their desires for funding.

Name Email Address

Sam Courson
Chief Comptroller

scourson@email.sc.edu
Zak Phaturos phaturos@email.sc.edu 
Todd Thomas toddat@email.sc.edu 
Juliana Drechsel drechsel@email.sc.edu 
Andrew Crawford atc3@email.sc.edu 
Sarah White sew18@email.sc.edu 

The Student Government Communications Team serves as the foremost advisors to the Student Body Executive Officers on communications, media relations, public relations, and specific policy stances. The team consists of graphic designers, photographers, videographers and more that help promote Student Government programs and initiatives through external communications. Follow student government at @UofSCSG on all social media platforms.

Director of Communications: Aidan Baker
Email: sasgcom@mailbox.sc.edu 

Constitutional Council (CC) is the Judicial Branch of Student Government. Consisting of four Associate Justices and one Chief Justice, the Council maintains the Student Government Codes and Constitution, and interprets them when there is a dispute on their meaning. The CC can also resolve internal disputes about the governing documents of student organizations.

Chief Justice: Robert Carthcart III
Email: saccoun@mailbox.sc.edu 
Submit a Case
 

Connect With Us

 


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©