FACULTY BUDGET COMMITTEE (FBC) ANNUAL REPORT 2021-2022

Committee members:

Elected:

Colleen Clark	Music
Jean Ellis	Geography
Kathryn Lindeman	Philosophy
Greg Niehaus	Darla Moore School of Business
Clinton Wallace	Law Office
Nicholas Watanabe	College Of Hrsm - Spte

Appointed:

Charley Adams Arnold School of Public Health (Faculty Advisory Co- Chair) Mary Alexander Provost's Office Mark Cooper Film and Media Studies (Senate Chair) Liam Hein Nursing Andrea Henderson Sociology Audrey Korsgaard Darla Moore School of Business (Incoming Senate Chair) Chun-hui Miao **Economics** Sheryl Mitchell College Of Nursing Scott Phinney Cataloging Computer Sci & Eng Marco Valtorta Stacy Winchester Library Digital Resources

Major Activities:

We began the academic year with two meetings that focused on understanding the University budgeting system. Kevin Russell, from the budget office, made presentations and answered questions at these meetings.

At the third meeting, we continued the discussion of the budget process with Kevin Russell. We also discussed concerns about the role of the committee in the Support Unit Allocation Committee (SUAC) process. Currently, members of the budget committee rank proposals and one person attends the SUAC meeting at which proposals are discussed. Committee members expressed the following concerns: (1) the process after the SUAC meeting is opaque, and (2) there is no feedback about what proposals are funded nor explanation for why proposals were or were not funded. The committee discussed these concerns with Kelly Epting in the budget office. Kelly was very responsive and in June provided the committee an overview of what happened in SUAC process.

Clint Wallace and Greg Niehaus participated in the SUAC process by ranking proposals and Clint attended the SUAC meeting on behalf of the committee.

At least one member of the FBC attended each of the annual Provost's Blueprint meetings for the Deans of the Academic Units.

At the last meeting of the year, the Blueprint meetings were discussed, Kelly Epting gave an update on the SUAC process, and Jean Ellis was elected chair for the 2021-2022 academic year.

In July, Mary Alexander offered to arrange a meeting between the committee and the academic unit financial officers during the fall of 2022. Jean Ellis responded that this was a good idea and a meeting is scheduled for November 3, 2022 from 10:30-11:30 in Osborne room 107.

Respectfully submitted,

Greg Niehaus Faculty Budget Committee