University Committee on Tenure and Promotion Annual Report for 2020-2021 September 8th, 2021

I. Introduction

Due to COVID-19 protocols, during the academic year 2020-2021 the University Committee on Tenure and Promotion (UCTP) held regular weekly meetings virtually using Microsoft Teams. The schedule was determined by the arrival of waves of case files from the office of the Provost as well as by requests for T&P policy clarifications. The UCTP met with the President and the Provost on December 7th, 2020 and April 28th, 2021. The Faculty Manual requires such a meeting for cases where the UCTP and the Provost have disagreed, but it is also a venue to discuss cases that merit additional scrutiny or allow one to draw general lessons for the T&P process.

II. Membership

During the academic year 2020-2021, the UCTP had its full statutory membership of 24 tenured professors, 15 elected and 9 appointed by the President through the Office of the Provost. Franklin Wayne Outten (Chemistry and Biochemistry) served as Chair during this time. Due to retirement of three members from UofSC in December 2020, two elected slots and one appointed slot had to be filled by a vote of the UCTP or by interim appointment. The UCTP membership, ordered by year member is departing the committee, is in the table below.

First Name	Last Name	Unit	College/School	Year Departing	Appointed or Elected
Cynthia	Corbett	College of Nursing	College of Nursing	2021	A
Robin	Dipietro	School of Hotel, Restaurant and Tourism Management	College of Hospitality, Retail and Sport Management	2021	A
Varsha	Kulkarni	Physics and Astronomy	College of Arts and Sciences	2021	Е
Catherine	Lilly	Instruction and Teacher Education	College of Education	2021	Е
Lara	Lomicka- Anderson	Languages, Literatures and Cultures	College of Arts and Sciences	2021	E
Wayne	Outten	Chemistry and Biochemistry	College of Arts and Sciences	2021	Е
Rekha	Patel	Biological Sciences	College of Arts and Sciences	2021	Е
Jay	Potts	Cell Biology & Anatomy	School of Medicine	2021	A
Jacqueline	Fox	School of Law	School of Law	2022	A
Lucy	Green*	School of Information Science	College of Information and Communications	2022	E
Lynn	Kompass*	School of Music	School of Music	2022	A
Gerald	McDermott	Department of International Business	Darla Moore School of Business	2022	Е

Matthew	Miller*	Mathematics	College of Arts and Sciences	2022	Е
Stephanie	Mitchem	Religious Studies	College of Arts and Sciences	2022	Е
Robert	Mullen	Civil and Environmental Engineering	College of Engineering and Computing	2022	A
Jiajia	Zhang	Epidemiology and Biostatistics	Arnold School of Public Health	2022	Е
Thomas	Brown	History	College of Arts and Sciences	2023	A
Amanda	Fairchild	Psychology	College of Arts and Sciences	2023	E
Sue	Levkoff	College of Social Work	College of Social Work	2023	Е
Krishna	Mandal	Electrical Engineering	College of Engineering and Computing	2023	A
Johannes	Stratmann	Biological Sciences	College of Arts and Sciences	2023	Е
Scott	Vandervelde	Accounting	Darla Moore School of Business	2023	A
Collin	Webster	Physical Education	College of Education	2023	Е
Sudha	Xirasagar	Health Services Policy and Management	Arnold School of Public Health	2023	Е

^{*}Due to retirements, Karen Gavigan, Carol Pardun, and Anton Schep were replaced by Lynn Kompass, Lucy Green, and Matthew Miller, effective January, 2021.

III. Tenure and Promotion Files

The UCTP reviewed 35 candidate files for the Fall and 35 candidate files for the Spring, for a total of 70 files reviewed in academic year 2020-2021. The Provost Report to the General Faculty Meeting contains numerical information about agreements and disagreements between the various levels in the T&P process, including UCTP.

IV. Unit Criteria

No new unit criteria were submitted to UCTP during the academic year 2020-2021. This drop off in criteria submitted for review was likely due to a combination of factors, including COVID-19 disruptions, Provost turnover, and the large number of unit criteria reviewed in the past several years. We anticipate unit criteria review to increase in the coming academic year.

V. Nomination and Election of New Members for the 2021-2024 cycle

The UCTP compiled a list of ten candidates to stand for election. The following five faculty members were elected to serve three-year terms (Fall 2021-Spring 2024):

First Name	Last Name	Unit	College
Varsha	Kulkarni	Physics and Astronomy	College of Arts and Sciences

Michael	Dowdy	English Language and Literature	College of Arts and Sciences
John	Ferry	Chemistry and Biochemistry	College of Arts and Sciences
Jerry	Hilbish	Biological Sciences	College of Arts and Sciences
Jean	Davis	College of Nursing	College of Nursing

VI. Other Business

Throughout September and October of 2020, the UCTP worked closely with the Office of the Provost to draft guidance for COVID-19 accommodations for university T&P policies.

In January 2021, the UCTP members elected Robert Mullen as Chair for the 2021-2022 academic year.

Chair Wayne Outten and Chair-Elect Robert Mullen conducted two Orientation Sessions for Faculty and Unit Tenure and Promotion Chairs online on April 27th, 2021.

Respectfully submitted:

Franklin Wayne Outten

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

College of Arts and Sciences

Franklie W. Outlin