<u>Minutes for the Meeting of the Committee of Nine – October 5, 2020</u> Submitted by Stacie Davenport

Mark Cooper, Chair of the Faculty Senate, chaired the meeting. The meeting began at 11:00am.

Members Present:

Prof. Mark Cooper

Prof. Gloria Boutte

Prof. Tena Crews

Dr. Heather Heckman

Prof. Coretta Jenerette

Prof. Marco Valtorta

Prof. Thomas Vogt

Prof. Patrick Wright

Non-voting members present:

Prof. Alexander Beecroft

Prof. Shirley Staples Carter

Prof. Susan Cutter

Prof. Carol Harrison

Prof. Scott Weiss

The following were also present: Tayloe Harding Dennis Pruitt

Joe Sobieralski

EAB:

David Attis

Professor Cooper opened the meeting.

The minutes from the September 30th meeting were approved and will be placed on the Faculty Senate webpage found here:

https://www.sc.edu/about/offices_and_divisions/faculty_senate/committees/committee of_9/index.php

Following the approval of the minutes, Professor Cooper turned the meeting over to David Attis.

Mr. Attis continued his discussion on staffing data and cost saving opportunities.

Much of the discussion focused on joint faculty teaching and understanding how each college/ department is allocated student credit hours.

A period of discussion and questions and answers followed.

Over the course of the discussion, factors mentioned for consideration included:

- How credit hours are allocated in the budget model.
- Tenured home vs. teaching home
- Course taught by more than one instructor

Mr. Attis acknowledged additional work is required and will continue to work with Sabrina Andrews in OIRAA and others on the data analysis. Mr. Attis will also continue to prepare for the upcoming conversations on academic structures and revenue generating opportunities.

After no further discussion, the meeting was adjourned at 12:00pm.