University Committee on Tenure and Promotion Annual Report 2019-2020 August 28th, 2020

I. Introduction

During the academic year 2019-2020 the University Committee on Tenure and Promotion (UCTP) held regular weekly meetings in the Thomas Cooper Library until, after spring break 2020, it transitioned to online meetings. The schedule was determined by when case files arrived from the Provost Office. While the UCTP met with the President and the Provost on November 20th, 2019, there was no such meeting at the end of the Spring 2020 term. The Faculty Manual requires such a meeting for cases where UCTP and the Provost have disagreed, but it is also a venue to discuss cases that merit additional scrutiny or allow one to draw general lessons for the T&P process.

II. Membership

During the year 2019-2020 UCTP had its full statutory membership of 24 tenured professors, 15 elected and 9 appointed by the President through the Provost Office. Michael Stoeltzner served as Chair. Due to teaching conflicts, resignations, and a departure from USC, two elected and two appointed slots had to be filled by a vote of UCTP or by interim appointment. The membership was as such:

Fall 2019: Gail Barnes (Music, class of 2020), Timothy Fry (Management Science, 2020), Esmaiel Jabbari (Chemical and Biomedical Engineering, 2020), Campbell McInnes (Pharmacy, 2020), Eva Monsma (Physical Education, 2020), Jihong Liu (Public Health, 2020), Joseph Quattro (Biological Sciences, 2020), Michael Stoeltzner (Philosophy, 2020); Lara Lomicka Anderson (Languages, Literatures and Cultures, 2021), Michael Beets (Public Health, 2021), Catherine Compton-Lilly (Instruction and Teacher Education, 2021), Cynthia Corbett (Nursing, 2021), Wayne Outten (Chemistry and Biochemistry, 2021), Rekha Patel (Biological Sciences, 2021), Jay Potts (Cell Biology and Anatomy, 2021), Mark Nagel (Sport and Entertainment Management, 2021), Stan Brown (Theatre and Dance, 2022), Karen Gavigan (SLIS, 2022), Gerald McDermott (International Business, 2022), Stephanie Mitchum (Religious Studies, 2022), Robert Mullen (Civil and Environmental Engineering, 2022), Carol Pardun (Journalism, 2022), Anton Schep (Mathematics, 2022), Christopher Williams (Chemical Engineering, 2022).

Spring 2020: Gail Barnes (Music, 2020), Timothy Fry (Management Science, 2020), Esmaiel Jabbari (Chemical and Biomedical Engineering, 2020), Campbell McInnes (Pharmacy, 2020), Eva Monsma (Physical Education, 2020), Jihong Liu (Public Health, 2020), Joseph Quattro (Biological Sciences, 2020), Michael Stoeltzner (Philosophy, 2020); Lara Lomicka Anderson (Languages, Literatures and Cultures, 2021), Catherine Compton-Lilly (Instruction and Teacher Education, 2021), Cynthia Corbett (Nursing, 2021), Robin DiPietro (Restaurant and Tourism Management (2021), Varsha Kulkarni (Physics and Astronomy, 2021), Wayne Outten (Chemistry and Biochemistry, 2021), Rekha Patel (Biological Sciences, 2021), Jay Potts (Cell Biology and Anatomy, 2021), Jacqueline Fox (Law 2022), Karen Gavigan (SLIS, 2022), Gerald McDermott (International Business, 2022), Stephanie Mitchum (Religious Studies, 2022), Robert Mullen (Civil and Environmental Engineering, 2022), Carol Pardun (Journalism, 2022), Anton Schep (Mathematics, 2022), Jiajia Zhang (Public Health, 2022).

III. Tenure and Promotion Files

The UCTP reviewed 31 Mid-Year files and 52 Regular Cycle files, for a total of 83 for the academic year 2019-2020. The Provost Report to the General Faculty Meeting contains numerical information about

agreements and disagreements between the various levels in the T&P process, including UCTP.

IV. Unit Criteria

The UCTP had been very active in approving unit criteria during the 2018-19 year. No new unit criteria were submitted to UCTP during the academic year 2019-20. Unfortunately, the Criteria for the Department of Theatre and Dance were not returned from the unit.

V. Nomination and Election of New Members for the 2020-2023 cycle

The UCTP compiled a list of ten candidates to stand for election. The following five faculty members were elected to serve three-year terms (Fall 2020-Spring 2023): Amanda Fairchild (Psychology, College of Arts and Sciences), Sue Levkoff (College of Social Work), Johannes Stratmann (Biology, College of Arts and Sciences), Collin Webster (College of Education), Sudha Xirasagar (Health Services Policy and Management, Arnold School of Public Health).

VI. Other Business

Michael Stoeltzner conducted two Orientation Sessions for Faculty and Unit Tenure and Promotion Chairs online on April 28th, 2020. The traditional meeting between the incoming and the outgoing Chairs and Provost Tayloe Harding was held on October 1st, 2019. It also served as preparation for a meeting with President Bob Caslen and Presidential Fellow Susan Bon on October 7th, 2019, that was focused on the T&P process in general. At the beginning of May 2020, the UCTP members elected Wayne Outten as Chair for the 2020-21 academic year.

VII. UCTP and the Faculty Senate

The UCTP Chair is an ex officio member of the Steering Committee of the Faculty Senate. Through a slight adaptation of the respective schedules it became possible for the Chair to participate in all meetings in person and online. UCTP is also represented on several pertinent ad hoc committees of the Faculty Senate.

Respectfully submitted:

Michael Stoeltzner (Department of Philosophy)