University Committee on Tenure and Promotion Annual Report 2017-2018 August 15, 2018

I. Introduction

This is the annual report of activities of the 2017-2018 University Committee on Tenure and Promotion (UCTP). During the 2017-2018 academic year, the UCTP held regular weekly meetings in the Thomas Cooper Library. This report contains a review of the UCTP activities from August 15, 2017 through August 15, 2018. In Fall 2017 the UCTP held 8 meetings; the committee met 13 times in the Spring 2018 semester. At the conclusion of each semester the members met with President Pastides and Provost Gable.

II. Membership

The 2017-2018 UCTP membership consisted of 24 tenured professors, both elected and appointed. *Table 1 lists the UCTP Roster for Fall 2017; Table 2 lists the UCTP Roster for Spring 2018.* Professor DeAnne K. Hilfinger Messias (Nursing and Women's and Gender Studies) served as Chair.

III. Tenure and Promotion Files

The UCTP members, organized into three Panels, reviewed 95 tenure and promotion files; 39 were Mid-Year file reviews and 56 were Regular Cycle file reviews.

IV. Unit Criteria

The UCTP reviewed and approved tenure and promotion guidelines from the following units:

Unit	Disposition
Law School	Approved October 24, 2017
CAS/Department of Mathematics	Approved January 31, 2018
School of Medicine/Basic Science	Approved January 31, 2018
Sport and Entertainment Management	Approved March 28, 2018
Electrical Engineering	Approved March 28, 2018
Department of Retailing/College of Hospitality,	
Retail and Sport Management	Approved April 18, 2018
Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice	Approved April 18, 2018

Under the coordination of Professor Tammi Richardson, UCTP Work Groups reviewed proposed revisions to tenure and promotion guidelines and returned proposed guidelines to the units with recommendations for further revisions. The following is a summary of unit criteria review activities conducted.

College of Pharmacy	Unit retracted previously submitted criteria on January 25, 2018
College of Arts and Sciences	
Anthropology	Reviewed/returned to Unit April 19, 2018
Geography	Reviewed/returned to Unit May 1, 2018
Religious Studies	Reviewed/returned to Unit April 2, 2018
Theatre and Dance	Reviewed/returned to Unit April 11, 2018
School of Visual Art and Design	Reviewed/returned to Unit April 26, 2018

Professor Angela Liese led the initiative to develop and implement the UCTP Routing Form for Tenure and Promotion Criteria Review. The internal form was approved by UCTP and implemented in the Spring 2018 semester. The aim of this UCTP Routing Form is to facilitate monitoring and tracking the UCTP unit criteria review and revision process.

Nomination and Election of Members for 2018-2019 Academic Year

To constitute the 2018-2021 slate of nominations for UCTP members, the UCTP Chair personally contacted 25 Professors from the following units:

Arnold School of Public Health

College of Education (Instruction and Teacher Education)

College of Arts and Sciences (Biological Sciences; Chemistry and Biochemistry; Criminology and Criminal Justice; Earth, Ocean and Environment; Geography; Languages, Literature, and Cultures; Physics)

College of Engineer and Computing

School of Journalism and Mass Communication

Law School

School of Medicine

The resulting slate consisted of 10 full professors from the following units:

College of Arts and Sciences (6)

Arnold School of Public Health (1)

College of Education (1)

School of Medicine (1)

The Faculty Senate Office distributed ballots for the UCTP election via campus mail to all tenured faculty members.

The following faculty members were elected to serve 3-year terms (Fall 2018-Spring 2021)

Lara Anderson	College of Arts and Sciences	Languages, Literatures & Cultures		
Michael Beets	Arnold School of Public Health	Exercise Sciences		
Catherine Compton-Lil	y College of Education	Instruction and Teacher Education		
Wayne Outten	College of Arts & Sciences	Chemistry and Biochemistry Sciences		
Rekha Patel	College of Arts & Sciences	Biological Sciences		
The names of these individuals who were also on the ballot were provided to the President:				
Robert Brookshire	College of Engineering & Computing	Integrated Information Technology		
Thomas Crocker	School of Law			
Varsha Kulkarni	College of Arts and Sciences	Physics and Astronomy		
Jay Potts	School of Medicine	Cell Biology and Anatomy		
Kirk Randazzo	College of Arts and Sciences	Political Science		

David Tedeschi College of Arts and Sciences Physics and Astronomy

The UCTP Chair conducted Orientation Sessions for Faculty and Unit Tenure and Promotion Chairs on May 1, 2018 in the Gambrell Hall Auditorium.

At the conclusion of the Fall and Spring Semesters, the UCTP members met with President Pastides and Provost Gable. The Fall Semester meeting was held on November 8, 2017 and the Spring Semester meeting occurred on Monday, May 30, 2018.

The UCTP members elected Professor Audrey Korsgaard as the 2018-2019 UCTP Chair.

Prepared and respectfully submitted by

Deduce Chiessias

DeAnne K. Hilfinger Messias, PhD, RN, FAAN Professor, College of Nursing and Women's and Gender Studies, College of Arts and Sciences UCTP Chair, 2017-2018

Member	Unit
Gail Barnes	Music
Subra Bulusu	Earth, Ocean, and Environment
Robert Cox	Law School
Timothy Fry	Management Science
Maria Girardi	Mathematics
Esmaiel Jabbari	Engineering and Computing
Robert Johnson	Education Studies
M. Audrey Korsgaard	Department of Management
Holly Lavoie	Cell Biology/Medicine
Sue Levkoff	Social Work
Angela Liese	Epidemiology & Biostatistics
Jihong Liu	Epidemiology & Biostatistics
Campbell McInnes	Pharmacy
DeAnne K. Hilfinger Messias	Nursing/Women's & Gender Studies
Eva Monsma	Physical Education
Robin Morris	Psychology
Mark Nagel	Sport & Entertainment Management
Joseph Quattro	Earth, Ocean and the Environment
Tammi Richardson	Biological Sciences
Robert Johnson	Education Studies
John Fitz Rogers	Music
Wadie Said	Law
Michael Stoeltzner	Philosophy
Jijun Tang	Computer Science and Engineering
Christopher Williams	Chemical Engineering

Table 1 UCTP Roster Fall 2017 (August 16, 2017 – December 31, 2017)

Member	Unit
Gail Barnes	Music
Robert Brame	Criminology and Criminal Justice
Subra Bulusu	Earth, Ocean, and Environment
Robert Cox	Law School
Timothy Fry	Management Science
Maria Girardi	Mathematics
Esmaiel Jabbari	Engineering and Computing
Robert Johnson	Education Studies
M. Audrey Korsgaard	Department of Management
Holly Lavoie	Cell Biology/Medicine
Angela Liese	Epidemiology & Biostatistics
Jihong Liu	Epidemiology & Biostatistics
Campbell McInnes	Pharmacy
DeAnne K. Hilfinger Messias	Nursing/Women's & Gender Studies
Eva Monsma	Physical Education
Robin Morris	Psychology
Mark Nagel	Sport & Entertainment Management
Joseph Quattro	Earth, Ocean and the Environment
Tammi Richardson	Biological Sciences
Robert Johnson	Education Studies
John Fitz Rogers	Music
Ned Snow	Law
Michael Stoeltzner	Philosophy
Jijun Tang	Computer Science and Engineering
Christopher Williams	Chemical Engineering

Table 2 UCTP Roster Spring 2018 (January 01, 2018 – August 14, 2018)

Process Steps in Review of Unit Tenure and Promotion (T&P) Criteria

