INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT 2019 – 2020

The Faculty Senate's Intellectual Property Committee (IPC) for 2019 - 2020 was composed of the following members:

Elected

Dick Kawooya School of Library and Information Science (2020)

Stacy Winchester Libraries (2020)

Eric P. Robinson Journalism and Mass Communications (2021)

Peisheng Xu, **Chair** Pharmacy (2021) Cormac Cannon Music (2022)

Milind Kuncher Physics and Astronomy (2022)

Appointed

Brian Benicewicz Chemistry & Biochemistry (2020)
Chad Hardaway, ex-officio Director, Technology Commercialization

George Lampl Office of General Counsel

The Committee had one in person meeting and one virtual meeting during the 2019 - 2020 academic year to conduct its business.

1. Faculty Review Requests.

No items for review came before the Intellectual Property Committee during the 2019 – 2020 academic year.

2. Intellectual Property Policy.

The Committee's major work for the year was to review the draft of the Intellectual Property Policy (ACAF 1.33, passed by the IPC on 4/8/2016) based on the feedback from the Faculty Advisory Committee. The review addressed several areas that the Faculty Advisory Committee identified. A new draft of the Intellectual Property Policy has been sent to the Faculty Advisory Committee for further comments.

3. Copyright Policy.

The Committee also reviewed the draft of newly established Copyright Policy (ACAF 1.35, passed by the IPC on 4/25/2019) based on the feedback from the Faculty Advisory Committee. The Copyright Policy has been sent to the Faculty Advisory Committee for approval.

4. Election of Chair.

Professor Eric P. Robinson agreed to run as a candidate for the Intellectual Property Committee Chair for 2020-2021 and was elected at the April 17, 2020 meeting.

5. <u>Incoming Members.</u>

Newly elected members for the coming year include: Professors Michael Weisenberg (Libraries, 2023) and John Lavigne (Chemistry, 2023) to replace seats held by outgoing members Professors Stacy Winchester (Libraries) and Dick Kawooya (School of Library and Information Science).

Respectfully submitted,

Peisheng Xu

College of Pharmacy
Chair, Intellectual Property Committee