INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT 2015 – 2016

The Faculty Senate's Intellectual Property Committee for 2015 – 2016 was composed of the following members:

Elected

Nathaniel Bell	Nursing (2017)
Amie Freeman	University Libraries (2018)
Chun-Hui Miao (C)	Darla Moore School of Business (2016)
Steven Liu	Educational Studies (2018)
Paula Vasquez	Mathematics (2017)
Peisheng Xu	College of Pharmacy (2016)

Appointed

Chad Hardaway	Director, Office of Technology Commercialization, ex officio
George Lampl	Office of General Counsel
Michael Matthews	Chemical Engineering (2016)
Qian Wang	Chemistry & Biochemistry (2016)

The Committee met in person five times during the 2015 - 2016 academic year to conduct its business. Professor Liu was on sabbatical during the fall semester and was unable to participate in the work of the committee during that semester. Professor Bell was unable to participate in the work of the committee during the spring semester due to taking on other duties at the university and his department.

1. Faculty Review Requests.

No items for review came before the Intellectual Property Committee during the 2015 - 2016 academic year.

2. <u>Intellectual Property Policy.</u>

The Committee's major work for the year was its continuing work on the revision of the existing Intellectual Property Policy (ACAF 1.33), most recently revised and adopted April 26, 2005. This review was undertaken at the 2013 request of the Office of Technology Commercialization, formerly known as the Intellectual Property Office. The committee focused its efforts on removing the Copyright sections of the Intellectual Property Policy and placing them into a separate Copyright policy draft, along with language indicating proper use.

The draft of the Intellectual Property Policy has been completed. The committee is currently working on the draft of Copyright Policy. This work should continue under the leadership of a new chair.

3. Incoming Members.

Committee Chair Chun-Hui Miao's term expired in August 2016. Professor Diansheng Guo from the Department of Geography will serve as the new Committee Chair in the next academic year.

Respectfully submitted, *Chun-Hui Miao* Darla Moore School of Business Chair, Intellectual Property Committee