FACULTY BUDGET COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT 2017-18

Committee members:

Elected: Thomas Regan - Chair (Sport and Entertainment Management, 2019). Andreas Heyden (Chemical Engineering, 2018); Ana Dubnjakovic (Libraries, 2020)

Appointed:

Augie Grant	Journalism & Mass Communications (Past Sen Chair)	
Marco Valtorta	Computer Science and Engineering (Sen Chair)	
Camelia Knapp	Earth & Ocean Sciences (Fac Advisory Co-Chair)	
William Sudduth	Libraries (Fac Advisory Co-Chair)	
Subra Bulusu	Earth, Ocean and Environment (Fac Welfare Chair)	
Drucilla Barker	Replacing Dr. Bulusu for Fall 2017	

Ex-officio: Mary Alexander (Assistant Provost for Academic Administration).

Meeting Dates:

Committee meetings: Faculty Budget Committee: Meeting dates.

Schedule for Fall 2017. 1:00 PM Osborne.

Sept 27, Oct. 25. Nov. 29 @ 1:00 pm

<u>Schedule for Spring 2018.</u> 1:00 PM Osborne 107. January 24, February 21, March 21, April 18, May TBD - if needed.

In addition to these meetings, elected members attended the 2018 Budget Blueprint meetings with the Provost, and the chair and other members attended the President's 2018 budget hearings.

Major Business:

1. Committee members discussed several issues related to faculty compensation, and submitted a memo to the Provost's Office requesting support for the final year of the compression initiative begun by the previous Provost. The final funding for compression was approved. Final and third installment of compression was completed Spring 2018. Compression is completed.

2. In collaboration with the Faculty Welfare Committee, the Budget Committee continued discussions on the financial burden imposed by the transition to a paid parking system for faculty and staff. We had meeting with parking to go over revenue structure. Derrick Huggins explained the revenue generated to pave lots, resurface lots, and annual maintenance.

3. CFO Leslie Brunelli visited the Committee in April, and summarized her budget presentation for FY 2018-2019.

5. The committee new chair for 2018-2019, Tom Regan (Sport and Entertainment Management). Ana Dubnajovic (University Libraries), new member: Dr. Deborah Hazzard, Management Department. Clinical Assistant Professor, Darla Moore School of Business Respectfully submitted, Tom H. Regan, Chair Faculty Budget Committee

	ulty Budget Committee: Future meeting dates. Schedule for Fall 2018. 1:00 PM Osborne. pt 19, Oct. 24. Nov. 28, Dec. 12, if needed. @ 1	1:00 pm
List from Faculty Senate of	ĩce	
Mary Alexander, ex-officio Tom Regan, Chair Ana Dubnjakovic Deborah Hazzard Augie Grant Marco Valtorta Susan Bon Andrew Graciano Bethany Bell William Morris Jr.	Office of the Provost Hospitality, Retail and Sport Management Libraries Business Journalism & Mass Communications (Past Sen C Computer Science and Engineering (Sen Chair) Education (Fac Advisory Co-Chair) Visual Art (Fac Advisory Co-Chair) Social Work (Fac Welfare Co-Chair) Educational Studies (Fac Welfare Co-Chair)	(2019) (2020) (2021) Chair)