FACULTY BUDGET COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT 2016-2017

Committee members:

Elected: Heather Heckman, Chair (University Libraries, 2017); Andreas Heyden (Chemical Engineering, 2018); Thomas Regan (Sport and Entertainment Management, 2019).

Appointed: Augie Grant (Faculty Senate Chair, Journalism & Mass Communication), Christian Anderson (Faculty Welfare Committee Co-Chair, Education), Andrea L'Hommedieu (Faculty Welfare Committee Co-Chair, University Libraries), Marco Valtorta (Faculty Advisory Committee Co-Chair).

Ex-officio: Mary Alexander (Assistant Provost for Academic Administration).

Committee meetings: September 8, 2016; September 16, 2016 (joint meeting with Faculty IT Committee, re: PeopleSoft); November 2, 2016; December 1, 2016; February 2, 2017; March 2, 2017; April 27, 2017; June 27, 2017.

A meeting scheduled for October 6 was canceled. The University was closed October 6-8 due to Hurricane Matthew.

In addition to these meetings, elected members attended the 2017 Budget Blueprint meetings with the Provost, and the chair attended the President's 2017 budget hearings.

Major Business:

- 1. Committee members discussed several issues related to faculty compensation, and submitted a memo to the Provost's Office requesting support for the final year of the compression initiative begun by the previous Provost. That funding was granted. The memo also reminded the Provost of the Committee's ongoing interest in raises tied to the post-tenure review process.
- 2. In collaboration with the Faculty Welfare Committee, the Budget Committee continued discussions on the financial burden imposed by the transition to a paid parking system for faculty and staff.
- 3. CFO Leslie Brunelli visited the Committee in April, and summarized her budget presentation for FY 2017-2018.
- 4. The committee discussed the unsatisfactory performance of the PeopleSoft Finance System in a joint meeting with the IT Committee, held in September.
- 5. The committee elected a new chair for 2017-2018, Tom Regan (Sport and Entertainment Management). Ana Dubnajovic (University Libraries) was elected to replace Heather Heckman (University Libraries), who rotates off.

Respectfully submitted, Heather Heckman, Chair Faculty Budget Committee