Committee on Professional Conduct 2016 Annual Report

Eight members were appointed to the Committee on Professional Conduct in its first year and assigned staggered terms.

- Ed Dickey, Education (2016)
- Suzanne McDermott, Public Health (2016)
- Lucia Pirisi-Creek, Medicine (2016)
- Beth Bilderback, Libraries (2017)
- Rosemarie Booze, Psychology (2017)
- John Grego, Statistics (2017)
- George Voulgaris, Earth & Ocean Sciences (2017)
- Jessica Elfenbein, History (2018)
- Andy Gillentine, HRSM (2018)
- Pamela Melton, Libraries (2018)
- Joe Quattro, Biological Sciences (2019)
- Shirley Staples Carter, Journalism & Mass Communications (2019)
- Bill Sudduth, University Libraries (2019)

Prof. Jan Breuer, Faculty Civility Advocate and Prof. Lacy Ford, Office of the Provost, served as ex officio members.

Members of the committee received training at a 90-minute workplace bullying workshop on September 10, 2015 presented by Prof. Jan Breuer. The workshop was organized to address training requirements for committee members; workshop materials were shared with committee members who could not attend.

We requested funding from Faculty Senate so that committee members could view a series of four 90-minute webinars conducted by the International Ombudsman Association. The webinars were recommended by Professor Breuer.

Prof. Jan Breuer called the committee to meet on April 28, 2016 to discuss her role, the role of the committee, and the relationship between the Faculty Civility Advocate and the committee. Prof. John Grego continues as chair.

Members of the Committee on Professional Conduct were not appointed by the Office of the Provost to serve on ad hoc investigative teams this past year to investigate faculty bullying cases.