COMMITTEE ON INSTRUCTIONAL DEVELOPMENT (INDEV) ANNUAL REPORT, 2017-2018

Submitted by Michael Weisenburg, Chair.

During the 2017-2018 academic year, the Faculty Senate Committee on Instructional Development (INDEV) focused on providing consistent, meaningful feedback to proponents based on the submission of their syllabuses. We made extensive use of the Academic Programs Proposal System (APPS), which was utilized for review of electronic submissions. Face-to-face committee meetings served as an opportunity to discuss necessary edits with proponents. Proposals that needed editing were returned to the proponent and then either approved electronically or the proponent returned to a subsequent committee meeting. We done much to streamline the meetings and have been more proactive in communicating with proponents via email to help mitigate the amount of revisions. New courses approved by the INDEV Committee were then referred to the Curricula and Courses Committee. Existing course adding distributed learning were referred to Faculty Senate for approval. In total, we reviewed 49 course proposals and ultimately approved 34.

Members of the Committee:

Elected

Ex-Officio

Marianne Bickle, HRSM Karen Brown, Libraries Sara Ernst, Music Kirk Fiedler, Business Carolyn Harmon, Nursing Yordanka Ilieva, Physics & Astronomy Michael Weisenburg, Libraries

Appointed

Student Representatives

Tena Crews, Provost's Office

Murray Mitchell, Graduate School

Aisha Haynes, Center for Teaching Excellence

Mohamad Azhar, Medicine Karen Edwards, HRSM Heather, Moorefield-Lang, SLIS Christine Rinehart, Political Science

Jessie Dawson

Bryan Jenkins, UTS

Kevin Tabury

Committee Meetings, 2017-2018:

August 14, 2017	January 23, 2018
September 5, 2017	February 27, 2018
October 3, 2017	March 27, 2018
November 28, 2017	April 24, 2018

Committee on Instructional Development (INDEV) Charge/Definition:

This committee shall review distributed learning course proposals for compliance with best practice benchmarks as defined by the university and accreditation bodies. The committee shall then recommend compliant distributed learning course proposals for approval. The membership of the committee shall include seven faculty members elected for staggered three-year terms. The provost shall appoint four other faculty members, for staggered three-year terms, to guarantee broad representation of the colleges and academic ranks. The president of the student body shall appoint one undergraduate and one graduate student to one-year terms, to be confirmed by the Student Senate. Ex-officio members may include representatives from the Provost's Office, Distributed Learning Support Services, Center for Teaching Excellence and Graduate School.