COMMITTEE ON INSTRUCTIONAL DEVELOPMENT (INDEV) ANNUAL REPORT 2015-2016

Members of the Committee:

Elected

Amy Edwards, Libraries (2016)

Joe Eller, Music (2016)

Scott Crittenden, Physics & Astronomy (2016)

Joan Culley, Nursing (2017)

Alyson Drake, Law Library (2017)

Don Jordan, Science Education (2017)

Tena Crews, Chair, Hospitality, Retail & Sport Management (2018)

Yordanka Illieva, Physics & Astronomy (2018)

Matthew Miller, Mathematics (2018)

Ex-Officio

Helen Doerpinghaus, Provost's Office

Kris Finnigan, Provost's Office

Lacy Ford, Provost's Office

Christy Friend, Center for Teaching Excellence

Bryan Jenkins, University Technology Services

Murray Mitchell, Graduate School

Appointed

Brie Dunn, Pharmacy (2016)

Lucy Annang, Public Health (2016)

Mark Beck, Languages, Literatures & Cultures (2017)

Sherry Grosso, Palmetto College (2017)

Kellee White, Epidemiology and Biostatistics (2018)

Christine Sixta Rinehart, Political Science (2018)

Tiffany Bordonada, Graduate Student Representative, Counselor Education (2016)

George McIntosh, Undergraduate Student Representative (2016)

Meetings:

August 12, 2015
September 2, 201
October 5, 2015
November 2, 2015
January 21, 2016
February 11, 2016
March 3, 2016
March 24, 2016

During the 2015-2016 academic year, the Faculty Senate Committee on Instructional Development (INDEV) focused on providing consistent, meaningful feedback to proponents based on the submission of their syllabi. This was the first year the Academic Programs Proposal System (APPS) was utilized for electronic submissions.

As the first year with any technological system, there was a learning curve, but the committee members were quick to take hold of the new system and provide excellent feedback. Proposals that needed editing were returned to the proponent and then either approved electronically or the proponent returned to a subsequent committee meeting. New courses approved by the INDEV Committee were then referred to the Curricula and Courses Committee. Existing course adding distributed learning were referred to Faculty Senate for approval.

The face-to-face committee meetings served the committee well as a summary of necessary edits were presented to proponents. To provide for consistency and meaningful feedback, the INDEV Checklist was updated and provided on the following website: http://www.sc.edu/faculty/distributed_ed_delivery_schedule.shtml The INDEV Committee's charge and suggested membership was also edited and approved by the Faculty Senate. The updated charge and membership better aligns with the expectations of the committee. The new charge and membership information is as follows:

Committee on Instructional Development (INDEV) Committee Charge/Definition

This committee shall review distributed learning course proposals for compliance with best practice benchmarks as defined by the university and accreditation bodies. The committee shall then recommend compliant distributed learning course proposals for approval.

The membership of the committee shall include seven faculty members elected for staggered three-year terms. The provost shall appoint four other faculty members, for staggered three-year terms, to guarantee broad representation of the colleges and academic ranks. The president of the student body shall appoint one undergraduate and one graduate student to one-year terms, to be confirmed by the Student Senate. Ex-officio members may include representatives from the Provost's Office, Distributed Learning Support Services, Center for Teaching Excellence and Graduate School.

The Chair of the INDEV Committee would like to thank all committee members for their hard work. A new chair for this committee is being elected.

Respectfully submitted on April 13, 2016, by Tena B. Crews, Chair 2015-2016