Committee on Curricula and Courses Annual Report 2013-2014

Members of the Committee:

Elected: Kendra Albright (Mass Communications & Info. Studies), Sarah Barker (Theatre & Dance), Xuhong Su (Political Science), Kathleen Kirasic (Psychology), Milind Purohit, (Chair; Physics & Astronomy), 1 position vacant.

Appointed: Kris Finnigan (ex-officio, Office of the Provost), Murray Mitchell (ex-officio, Graduate School), Robert Castleberry (USC Sumter), Clayton Armstrong (Undergraduate Student), and Brandon Boesch (Graduate Student).

During the 2013-2014 academic year the Faculty Senate Committee on Curricula and Courses approved 265 proposals.

The transition to paperless processing of curricula and course proposals continues under the direction of Kris Finnigan from the Office of the Provost. The new system will hopefully simplify the work of the committee, the Faculty Senate office, and those developing proposals.

During this year the committee transitioned from paper forms for proposals to the electronic system mentioned above. During the Spring semester we had to handle both systems for a while.

The committee heartily thanks both Jeanna Luker and Yvonne Dudley in the Faculty Senate office for their timely and informed handling of the business of the committee, and appreciates their ability to keep everything and everyone on track.

The Chair of the committee thanks all of its faculty and student members for their work in assuring that the committee efficiently fulfilled its responsibilities.

The committee elected Professor Kathleen Kirasic (Psychology) as Chair for the 2015-2016 academic year via email after the May 2015 meeting.

Respectfully submitted on July 20, 2015, by Milind Purohit, Chair 2014-2015.