## Committee on Curricula and Courses Annual Report 2013-2014

Members of the Committee:

Elected: Kendra Albright (Mass Communications & Info. Studies), Sarah Barker (Theatre & Dance), Pat Gehrke (English), Brian Habing (Statistics, Chair), Michael Hill (Languages, Literatures, & Cultures), Xuhong Su (Political Science)

Appointed: Kris Finnigan (ex-officio, Office of the Provost), Murray Mitchell (exofficio, Graduate School), Robert Castleberry (USC Sumter), Anne Parham (Student), and Marissa Torgerson (Student).

During the 2013-2014 academic year the Faculty Senate Committee on Curricula and Courses approved 234 proposals.

The transition to paperless processing of curricula and course proposals continues under the direction of Kris Finnigan from the Office of the Provost. The new system will greatly simplify the work of the committee, the Faculty Senate office, and those developing proposals.

The responsibility for approval of distance education proposals was formally transferred from the Committee on Curricula and Courses to the Committee on Instructional Development beginning with the October 2013 committee meetings.

The committee heartily thanks Jeanna Luker in the Faculty Senate office for her timely and informed handling of the business of the committee, and appreciates her ability to keep everything and everyone on track.

The Chair of the committee thanks all of its faculty and student members for their work in assuring that the committee efficiently fulfilled its responsibilities.

The committee elected Professor Milind Purohit (Physics) as Chair for the 2014-2015 academic year at the September 2014 meeting.

Respectfully submitted on October 24, 2014, by Brian Habing, Chair 2013-2014